What does Instagram User Mean in Dms (2022)

If you send or receive a message on Instagram, then you’ve probably seen the term “Instagram user” on your Instagram chat/messages.

But What does Instagram User Mean in Dms? And why does the “Instagram User” profile sometimes show its followers, following, & posts numbers? and sometimes it doesn’t?

Please note – Instagram Bio is not visible in both cases.

We will make everything clear about the Instagram User meaning in this article. Just keep reading.

What does Instagram User Mean in Dms

If you chat with so many people on Instagram you must have seen some chats/profiles with the name “Instagram User” in your messages.

What does Instagram User Mean in Dms

To figure out what Instagram User in chat means, we sent one message to every “Instagram User” profile. But we never get a reply.

If the User is not replying to a message and is not even seeing a message, this means the user is not using (active on) Instagram anymore or maybe the user blocked us.

We shared the “Instagram User” profile to find Instagram user meaning

Taking a step further, we shared the “Instagram User” Profile with one of our friends. And on sharing the “Instagram User” profile, we noticed that our chat says “Cannot find this user”.

What does Instagram User Mean in Dms

And our friend told us that he was not able to find the Instagram profile we shared with him. He told us that he cannot find this user either.

This made us clear that we are not blocked by that user because even our friend was also not able to find that “Instagram User”.

So, this confirmed to us that the Instagram User in chat means that the user is no longer available on Instagram.

We Called the “Instagram User” to find what Instagram User means

Taking a step further, we decided to call the “Instagram User”. We opened one of the chats of “Instagram User” and we called the user by pressing the “Audio call” button on the top right corner.

On calling the “Instagram User” 2 to 3 times, the message appears at the bottom of the chat. The message says ” Disabled Accounts cannot be contacted”.

What does Instagram User Mean in Dms

The message made us clear that Instagram User in chat means that the account is disabled by Instagram.

So, if you found any “Instagram User” profile in your Instagram dms that means that user account is disabled and cannot be contacted.

Why Some “Instagram User” Profiles shows Posts, followers, & following numbers and some don’t?

You ever tried to open the “Instagram User” profile in your dms? If yes, you might have seen some “Instagram User” profiles showing Posts, followers, & following numbers and some don’t. Why so?

The picture below shows the “Instagram user” profile without any visible number of Posts, Followers, and following.

What does Instagram User Mean in Dms

We told our friend to temporarily disable his Instagram account

To figure out why Some “Instagram User” profiles have visible numbers of posts, followers, and following. We told our friend to temporarily disable his Instagram account.

On our request, he visits his profile on his phone and he selects the option “temporary disable my Instagram account” and then he fills out the reason why he wants to disable his account temporarily.

Once he disables his Instagram account, his name automatically changes to “Instagram User” in a few minutes in our dms.

1660836770193 edited

Just like any other “Instagram user” profile, we opened our friend’s profile which is now shown as “Instagram user” in our dms.

What does Instagram User Mean in Dms

On visiting his profile, we noticed that his profile shows the number of Posts, Followers, and following.

What does Instagram User Mean in Dms

This made us clear that when the “Instagram user” profile shows posts, followers, and, following numbers. it means that account is temporarily disabled.

And when the “Instagram user” profile does not show posts, followers, and, following numbers. it means that account is permanently disabled.

We told our friend to reactivate his temporarily disabled Instagram account

The moment our friend logged in to his Instagram Account, his account activated again. And his name again appeared in our dms.

This is how his name appears in our Instagram dms after he reactivated his Instagram Account.

1660836770169 edited

Can I access posts, and followers of “Instagram User”?

No, you cannot access the posts and followers of the “Instagram User” in your dms. You cannot open any of their posts nor check the profiles of their followers.

But you may see how many posts and followers “Instagram User” has.

Also read

  1. How to Turn off Read Receipts on Instagram
  2. How to know if someone restricted you on Instagram
  3. How to See Posts You’ve Liked on Instagram 
  4. How to Share Instagram Profile Link
  5. How to Reverse Audio on Instagram
  6. How to Create Group in Instagram